Vendors / Adjacent encroachers — ordering, middleware & back-office

ItsaCheckmate

Middleware, not a POS — a channel and menu management layer (branded EveryWare) plus first-party web/app ordering, kiosk, AI voice ordering, catering and reconciliation that sits on top of 20-plus POS systems, and one of the ten vendors in DoorDash's 2026 Preferred Integration Partner cohort, which is the strongest available third-party evidence for its menu-sync and 86ing depth.

scored live legacy rubric

Claims in scope
255
Scored
36
Assessed
29
Unknown
226
Not applicable
59
Cells challenged
0
89% of in-scope claims are unknown. This record measures what ItsaCheckmate publishes at least as much as what it does. A vendor that documents little scores low here whether or not the capability exists. Absence of evidence is recorded as unknown, never as no.

Identity

Owner
Private and independent; no parent company or acquisition is disclosed on the vendor site and none was verifiable from a primary source
Who it is for
Enterprise restaurant brands and franchise groups running many delivery marketplace channels who want one menu source and one reconciliation layer across 20-plus POS systems (site cites 2,400 brands, 700M+ orders)
Site
https://itsacheckmate.com/

Pricing

transparency: quote-only · unit: unknown (quote-only; likely per-location subscription, not verified) · processor lock-in: unknown

Software
Not published. The site references 'transparent fees' and 'flexible contracts' but shows no dollar figures, no per-location rate, and no per-order fee. Quote-only via a contact-sales flow.

Capabilities

Every claim is binary and checkable. Grades: A primary documentation · B product documentation · C pricing or feature page · D marketing claim · E third-party reporting · F inference with no source. A yes on a differentiator claim requires A or B.

Menu, modifiers & pricing engine

Unknown

menu-pricing-nested-modifiers

It maps menus across channels, so it must represent modifiers, but nesting depth and min/max/forced-selection handling are not published.

F
Partial

menu-pricing-modifier-price-by-parent-size

Checkmate is a sync layer, so what its menu schema can represent is the capability. The Modifier Disambiguation IDs page states: 'In some cases - a Modifier Items will have a different price when it's attached to a different Menu Item. In such cases we may use a Special Format for the Modifier Item id that allows us to easily determine the context - with CM_USE_ID in the middle', with the id form <uuid>##CM_USE_ID##MenuItem:<item-id>##ModifierItem:<mod-id>. Per-parent-item modifier pricing therefore survives the sync out to the marketplaces. Shortfall: it is carried as a separate context-qualified modifier instance per parent item - duplication with a disambiguation key, not a matrix - and there is no size dimension anywhere in the Get Menu schema; modifier objects expose a single scalar price and sizes appear as ordinary modifier items or separate menu items each with their own price. Checkmate cannot configure any of it either: 'Prices are established directly at the Point Of Sale (POS) systems rather than through the Checkmate Portal. We do not support individual pricing adjustments for items or modifiers on online menus', the only portal price control being a uniform Price Elevation percentage across all items and modifiers (support.itsacheckmate.com article 8127887582619). https://openapi-itsacheckmate.readme.io/reference/modifier-disambiguation-ids · retrieved 2026-08-04

A
Unknown

menu-pricing-fractional-placement differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-half-and-half-rule differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Partial

menu-pricing-topping-quantity-tiers

The Get Menu reference gives modifier groups minimum_amount, maximum_amount and allow_modifier_multiple_quantity, and the menu meta object carries allows_mod_quantitieas [sic] - so modifier quantity is supported, but only as a repeat count of the same modifier, which is exactly the mechanism this claim distinguishes tiers from. Shortfall: no tier construct and no price-multiplier field exists in the schema - searching the full Get Menu reference payload returns zero occurrences of 'multiplier', and a modifier object exposes only id, name, price, description, suspend_until, is_alcohol, nutritional_info and a nested modifier_groups array. Light/regular/extra can therefore only travel as separate modifier items each with a flat price, and Checkmate cannot set those prices: 'We do not support individual pricing adjustments for items or modifiers on online menus; all prices must originate from the POS' (support.itsacheckmate.com article 8127887582619). https://openapi-itsacheckmate.readme.io/reference/getting-started-with-your-api-1 · retrieved 2026-08-04

A
Unknown

menu-pricing-size-style-matrix differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-included-allowance differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-combos

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-upsell-prompts differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-86-propagation

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-countdown-auto-86 differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-dayparting

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-channel-price-books

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-dual-pricing differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-versioning-effective-dates differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-franchise-hierarchy differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-allergen-nutrition

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-recipe-linkage differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-3p-menu-push

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

menu-pricing-dynamic-pricing

Not scored by this record.

Payments & money movement

Unknown

payments-processor-choice differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

payments-published-rates differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

payments-dual-pricing differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

payments-surcharge-guardrails differentiator

Not scored by this record.

No

payments-emv-nfc

No first-party payment terminals; card acceptance sits with the marketplace or the integrated POS. https://itsacheckmate.com/ · retrieved 2026-08-01

E
Unknown

payments-softpos-tap-to-pay differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

payments-pay-at-table

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

payments-qr-guest-pay differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

payments-tip-adjust

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

payments-tip-pooling differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

payments-offline-store-and-forward differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

payments-offline-decline-liability differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Partial

payments-gift-cards

First-party gift cards do exist, on Checkmate Direct Ordering: 'Direct Ordering supports digital gift cards that can be created, activated, and loaded with credit for customers to use at checkout' (support article 41206446643483). Balances are live at the point of redemption - the guest presents a QR code or the card number, 'The gift card balance is applied to the total', and 'Gift card balances can be used for full or partial payment'. Shortfall: digital-only and effectively single-POS. 'Only Direct Ordering Digital Gift Cards can be used with this process. Physical gift cards and other gift card systems are not supported', and the only documented in-store, phone and drive-thru redemption path requires 'Toast POS with the Direct Ordering Digital Gift Card integration enabled'. No documentation was found for in-store redemption on any other integrated POS, so redemption across every location in a mixed-POS group is not established. https://support.itsacheckmate.com/hc/en-us/articles/38072866230299-Using-Digital-Gift-Cards-with-Toast-POS · retrieved 2026-08-04

B
Unknown

payments-house-accounts

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

payments-split-tender

Not scored by this record.

Partial

payments-refund-void-controls

Role-gated refunds and voids are documented for Direct Ordering. Adding Users and Managing Permissions defines five ranked roles (Admin, Catering Manager, Manager, Cashier, Employee) and per-function minimum-role settings including 'Refund Orders', 'Cancel Orders', 'Edit Orders - Quick Edit' and 'Edit Orders - Full Edit': 'If the role of Admin is assigned, only users with the Admin role can cancel orders.' Processing and Calculating Refunds (article 37713905696411) confirms the gate - 'A refund can be requested from Checkmate Support or, depending on account permissions, processed directly from the Direct Ordering Admin Panel' - and defines voids: uncharged Pending/Open orders 'are canceled (voided) instead, in full only, with no partial voids', while 'a refund cannot be reversed once it is processed.' Shortfall: the audit half of the claim is not documented - no article describes an audit log, immutable or otherwise, identifying who processed a refund or void - and the discount and no-sale halves have no analogue because Checkmate has no register or cash drawer; authorization is a role threshold at login, not a manager-PIN-at-terminal approval. https://support.itsacheckmate.com/hc/en-us/articles/26312240204827-Adding-Users-and-Managing-Permissions · retrieved 2026-08-04

B
Unknown

payments-chargeback-tooling differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

payments-card-on-file differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

payments-payout-timing differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

payments-multi-entity-routing differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

payments-p2pe-pci4

Not scored by this record.

Delivery, dispatch & third-party channels

No

delivery-driver-roster

Product is marketplace channel management; no in-house driver entity, clock-in, or run history is documented. https://itsacheckmate.com/ · retrieved 2026-08-01

E
No

delivery-dispatch-board

The Admin Panel orientation enumerates the order screens - 'Orders Overview: Provides an overview of all orders, including today's orders, upcoming orders, and held orders' and 'Order Management: Manages open and upcoming orders at the store level' - and neither is a dispatch board. Delivery is fulfilled by third-party last-mile providers, not own drivers: store settings carry 'Delivery Integration, Delivery Service Provider Setup', the integrations list names DoorDash Drive, Relay and Uber Direct, and the Delivery report 'reviews delivery order data for orders fulfilled through a delivery provider'. No driver entity exists anywhere in the product (see delivery-driver-roster), so a screen showing driver availability or batching 2+ orders onto one driver's run has nothing to operate on. The only driver artefact in the documentation is the Driver Wait Time Report (article 29732578925851) on marketplace couriers' waits, 'currently available only for DoorDash and Uber Eats' with data 'at least two days old' - a retrospective report, not dispatch. Re-pointed 2026-08-12: the article was renamed from "Introduction to the Direct Ordering Admin Panel" to "Navigating the Direct Ordering Admin Panel". Same Zendesk article id (26107840524187), same document; both quoted passages were re-verified as still present. On this host the slug is decorative and self-correcting, so the old URL still resolves. https://support.itsacheckmate.com/hc/en-us/articles/26107840524187-Navigating-the-Direct-Ordering-Admin-Panel · retrieved 2026-08-12

B
Unknown

delivery-route-map differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-driver-tracking differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-zones-polygon differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Partial

delivery-zone-pricing

The address-validation half is documented: each store's revenue center has a delivery zone (circular radius or a custom shape drawn on the map), the customer enters a delivery address and 'Direct Ordering automatically checks which store locations deliver to that address', with numbered zone priorities resolving overlaps between nearby stores. Shortfall: zones gate eligibility only. Each revenue center has exactly one zone, and nothing in the article attaches a delivery fee, an order minimum, or a quoted promise time to a zone, so there is no construct for near/far pricing tiers. The only documented fee path is flat and out-of-band: 'Sending Delivery Fees through your POS' (article 8126991461147) says to add the fee in the POS and email support@itsacheckmate.com to have it applied per ordering platform. An 'Advanced Delivery' entry and a Surcharges page appear in the Admin Panel settings list, but no public article documents per-zone fee, minimum, or promise-time configuration. https://support.itsacheckmate.com/hc/en-us/articles/26310661867035-Setting-up-Delivery-Zones · retrieved 2026-08-04

B
Unknown

delivery-address-validation

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-driver-comp differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-cash-reconcile

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-daas-dispatch

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-daas-fallback differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-3p-direct-integration differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-3p-injection

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-menu-push

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-86-sync

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-store-pause

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-3p-reconciliation differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-injection-error-visibility differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-tracking-page

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-promise-time differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

delivery-offline-behavior

Not scored by this record.

Digital ordering & guest-facing channels

Partial

digital-first-party-web

Site markets first-party web and app ordering plus kiosk alongside marketplace channels; commission structure and domain branding are not specified. https://itsacheckmate.com/ · retrieved 2026-08-01

D
Yes

digital-menu-single-source

Core product: EveryWare unified channel and menu management, centrally managing menus across marketplaces and syncing to POS. Reinforced by DoorDash 2026 Preferred Integration Partner status, which requires real-time menu syncing. https://itsacheckmate.com/ · retrieved 2026-08-01

D
Unknown

digital-native-app differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Yes

digital-account-saved-payment

All three elements are in the Direct Ordering admin documentation. Saved cards: 'By default, logged-in guests can save credit cards to their profile for faster checkout on future orders', configurable brand-wide across 'both the Web App and the Mobile App' with Prevent / Hide / Guest Choice options; cards live with the payment processor (NMI or Stripe, per How Credit Card Payments Work, article 26312726330779). Saved addresses: the Customer Details page lists 'Address: the customer's saved address or addresses' with unit number and last-used date (article 37713575428635). Reorder: 'For a customer with a registered Direct Ordering account, signed in with a verified email address, reordering a past order and paying with a saved credit card takes only a few clicks' - from the homepage for the most recent order or from Order History for older ones - plus a Favorites tile for one-tap access to favorited items (article 22212398288923). https://support.itsacheckmate.com/hc/en-us/articles/39186287279131-Managing-Saved-Credit-Cards-for-Logged-In-Guests · retrieved 2026-08-04

B
Unknown

digital-upsell-engine differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-scheduled-pacing

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-fulfillment-modes

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-qr-table

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-kiosk differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-group-ordering

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-catering-portal differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-voice-ai-phone differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-drivethru-ai

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-sms-ordering

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-google-order differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-apple-business-connect

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-loyalty-attach

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-subscriptions

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-promo-parity

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-guest-data-ownership differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-checkout-pci-sca

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

digital-surcharge-transparency differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Guest data, loyalty & marketing

Partial

guest-loyalty-unified-profile

A single Direct Ordering profile per guest is documented - the Customer Details page carries contact details, loyalty program, tier, points and credit, full order history and saved addresses (article 37713575428635) - and in-store POS transactions can land on that same loyalty account: staff look the guest up by QR code, phone or email at the register, and a missed transaction 'can be added manually to the guest's loyalty account by entering the purchase details into the system within 24 hours'. Shortfall: the in-store leg is documented only for Toast POS, and attachment is staff-initiated identification at checkout rather than an automatic match - 'Linking a payment card in the app does not automatically earn points for in-store purchases. Guests must still identify themselves at the Toast POS by scanning their QR code or providing their phone number or email at checkout.' Kiosk orders are nowhere documented as attaching to the profile, and no dedup/merge behavior is documented anywhere - the closest article, Updating Customer Email Addresses (26331485594907), covers changing a login email, not merging duplicate profiles. https://support.itsacheckmate.com/hc/en-us/articles/29361529216923-Earning-and-Redeeming-Loyalty-with-Toast-In-Store · retrieved 2026-08-04

B
Unknown

guest-loyalty-thirdparty-identity-attach differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-accrual-models

Site lists loyalty among its solutions, but accrual model configuration is not documented publicly.

F
Unknown

guest-loyalty-tiers differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-offline-behavior differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-offer-stacking-rules differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-targeted-offers differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-rfm-segmentation differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Yes

guest-loyalty-lifecycle-automation

Trigger-based always-on campaigns are a documented Direct Ordering feature, distinct from one-off sends. Setting Up Automated Email Campaigns: 'An automated email campaign sends emails to guests based on one of the following trigger points' - Birthday (a set number of days before, on, or after the birthday), Last Order Date (on, or a set number of days after, the last order date: the lapsed win-back case), and Order Placed (on, or a set number of days after, an order: the post-purchase thank-you case). Reward Events (article 33406731592347) repeats the pattern on the rewards side: 'Automated Reward Event: a recurring reward triggered by events such as birthdays, last orders, or registrations', the registration trigger covering the first-visit welcome. Tier attainment also delivers 'Automated Rewards: rewards are added to customer accounts automatically and sent by email, SMS, and push notification' (Types of Loyalty Programs, article 26309755876379). https://support.itsacheckmate.com/hc/en-us/articles/29659156081563-Setting-Up-Automated-Email-Campaigns · retrieved 2026-08-04

B
Unknown

guest-loyalty-native-email-sms differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-consent-management

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-10dlc-registration

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-campaign-attribution differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-data-export-portability differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-cdp-event-api differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-review-capture-routing differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-referral-program

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-wallet-pass differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-privacy-rights-tooling

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-redemption-fraud-controls

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-ai-offer-recommendation differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

guest-loyalty-stored-value-gift

Not scored by this record.

Labor & workforce

No

labor-clock-in-at-pos

No labor or time-and-attendance product in the catalog. https://itsacheckmate.com/ · retrieved 2026-08-01

E
Unknown

labor-photo-punch-verification differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-geofenced-mobile-punch

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-offline-time-punch differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Yes

labor-granular-rbac

Permissions are granted per discrete action, not by fixed tier. The admin guide enumerates individually assignable permissions in six sections: Menu (Add Items or Modifiers, Edit Item or Modifier Names, Edit Tax Rate, Edit Modifier Group Min/Max, Edit Price Elevation Percent, Sort Menu Items, Delete Menu Items or Modifiers, Toggle Menu Item Availability, 'Push, Pull, and Revert Menu'), Location (Create/Update/Manage Location, Toggle Store Status, Update Holiday Hours, Update Kitchen Prep Time, Access and Configure Integration Settings), User (Create, Update, Delete, Archive, Manage Users), Partner, Insightful Analytics - where every report is separately grantable (View Order Summary Reports, View Top Selling Items Report, View Sold Out Frequency Report, View Promo Analysis Report, View System Health Report, Customize Alerts) - and Other (View Credentials, Edit Credentials, Refunds Dispute Access, View Account Reconciliation, View Order Errors). 'The master user can assign these permissions to control what other users can view, modify, or manage.' Per-location scoping is explicit and separate: the Manage User Access interface lets an admin 'view the assigned locations' and assign or unassign locations or brands per user, and archived users retain 'permissions, preferences, and location assignments' (article 8132791104411). The register-side actions in the claim's parenthetical (void, comp, drawer open) have no analogue because Checkmate has no terminal. https://support.itsacheckmate.com/hc/en-us/articles/8132477413915-Manage-User-Access-Permissions-Explained · retrieved 2026-08-04

B
Partial

labor-manager-override-audit

Individual attribution exists for the privileged actions Checkmate does have, and it is queryable after the fact through the Reporting API. Sold Out Items Details exposes sold_out_action_started_at and sold_out_action_started_by ('Email or identifier of the person who marked the item as sold out'), sold_out_action_ended_at, sold_out_action_ended_by, reason, offline_hours and times_went_offline; Item Sold Out Events adds user_id plus a superseded flag and next_pushed_event_id; Order Details records asker_id, assignee_id, assigned_to, resolved_by, reviewer_id, submitter_id and canceled_by against each order error. Shortfall: Checkmate has no register and documents no manager-override or approval-at-the-terminal flow, so the specific artefact the claim describes does not exist here; no in-portal audit-log view is documented anywhere in the Account Management or Portal sections; and nothing in the documentation asserts the log is immutable. https://support.itsacheckmate.com/hc/en-us/articles/30504461783963-Reporting-API-Internal-Data-Tables · retrieved 2026-08-04

B
Unknown

labor-native-scheduling differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-demand-labor-forecast differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-realtime-labor-percent differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-overtime-prevention differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-break-compliance-by-state differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-fair-workweek-support

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-minor-labor-rules

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-tip-pooling-rules

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-tip-distribution-audit-trail

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-qualified-tips-w2-reporting differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-native-payroll differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-payroll-export-formats

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-shift-swap-workflow differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-digital-onboarding-i9

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

labor-server-performance-metrics differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Inventory, purchasing & cost control

No

inventory-recipe-bom-costing

No inventory or recipe costing product; the catalog is ordering, channels, kiosk, voice, loyalty and reconciliation. https://itsacheckmate.com/ · retrieved 2026-08-01

E
No

inventory-unit-conversion-yields

No inventory module exists in the published product catalog. https://itsacheckmate.com/ · retrieved 2026-08-01

E
Unknown

inventory-theoretical-vs-actual differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-realtime-depletion differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-86-auto-sync differentiator

Not scored by this record.

No

inventory-count-modes

No inventory counting product is offered. https://itsacheckmate.com/ · retrieved 2026-08-01

E
Unknown

inventory-mobile-count-offline

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-vendor-catalogs-edi differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-invoice-ocr differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-price-change-alerts differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-par-auto-suggest differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-waste-logging

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-transfers

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-commissary

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-lot-traceability

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-shelf-life-expiry

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-bar-partial-bottle

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-cogs-gl-export

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-native-not-partner differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

inventory-menu-margin-linkage differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Reporting, BI & data access

Partial

reporting-realtime-dashboard

Markets financial reconciliation and cross-channel reporting; refresh latency, browser plus mobile access are not specified. https://itsacheckmate.com/ · retrieved 2026-08-01

D
Unknown

reporting-eod-closeout

Reconciliation tooling exists, but it reconciles marketplace payouts, not a POS end-of-day cash and tender close-out.

F
Partial

reporting-pmix-modifier-level

Modifier-level product mix is real. The Top Selling Items report has three tabs - Overview, 'Item Details: Provides detailed sales data for each item' and 'Modifier Details: Shows detailed sales data for modifiers' - with filters at the top of the page and the ability to 'Add or remove columns, fields, and specific items'. The underlying Sold Items Details API confirms the grain and the measures: item_name, item_type ('Type of the item (e.g., modifier_item)'), quantity, subtotal ('Subtotal amount for the sold item, excluding taxes'), location_id, order_source, created_date. Shortfall: the only sales measure documented is a tax-exclusive subtotal, with no separate net-of-discount or net-of-refund figure alongside it, and the documented slicing dimensions are location, ordering platform and date - neither the Using Filters guide (article 22530557028251) nor any Reporting API field list mentions a daypart or a revenue-center filter, which follows from Checkmate seeing only digital-channel orders rather than the whole restaurant. https://support.itsacheckmate.com/hc/en-us/articles/22540386187291-Insights-Top-Selling-Items · retrieved 2026-08-04

B
Unknown

reporting-comps-voids-audit

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-cash-over-short

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-labor-productivity

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-server-scorecards differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-channel-profitability differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-multiloc-drilldown differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-custom-report-builder differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-scheduled-delivery

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-raw-warehouse-export differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-public-api differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-webhooks differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-api-not-upcharged differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-tier-paywall differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-history-retention differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-anomaly-alerts differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-nl-query

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-guest-cohorts differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-sales-forecast differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reporting-tip-tax-compliance

Not scored by this record.

Multi-location, franchise & enterprise governance

Unknown

multi-location-org-hierarchy

Serves enterprise brands and franchises at scale, which implies hierarchy, but no named multi-level org object is documented.

F
Partial

multi-location-central-menu-publish

Central menu management pushes to selected channels and locations; a publish/version history showing what, when and by whom is not documented. https://itsacheckmate.com/ · retrieved 2026-08-01

D
Unknown

multi-location-local-override-policy differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-price-zones

Channel-specific menu pricing is implicit in marketplace markup management, but per-location and per-daypart tiers are not documented.

F
Unknown

multi-location-scheduled-publish differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-new-store-template differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-corp-vs-franchisee-roles differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-royalty-calculation differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-royalty-collection

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-consolidated-reporting

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-normalized-item-rollup differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-cross-location-giftcard

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-cross-location-loyalty

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-multi-brand differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-multi-tax-jurisdiction

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-multi-currency-locale

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-config-audit-log differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-enterprise-sso differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-enterprise-api differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

multi-location-central-labor-policy

Not scored by this record.

Integrations, API & extensibility

Yes

extensibility-public-api-docs

REPLACES an undated first-pass placeholder that said 'Site references a Developer Marketplace but routes to a Partner With Us contact flow; no publicly readable API reference was found' -- while three cells in this same record cite openapi-itsacheckmate.readme.io/reference/ pages at grade A, retrieved 2026-08-04, including extensibility-oauth-partner-apps quoting the portal's own OAuth statement. Re-fetched 2026-09-01: HTTP 200 anonymously; robots.txt (231 b) allows / and bars only readme.io internals (/cdn-cgi/ carried as a must-refuse control and correctly refused). The reference renders its content server-side without a session -- the 'Get Menu' page shows its method and URL in the open ('get https://sandbox-api.itsacheckmate.com/api/v2/menu/{order_source}', 'Returns the latest menu for your location') and its navigation enumerates the whole v2.2 surface: Onboarding & OAuth 2.0 Flow (Introduction, Scopes, App Registration, Authorisation Request, Bulk Special Case, Activating your Location), Open API v2.2 APIs (Get Token / Refresh Token, Get Token Details, Get Location, Activate Location, Get Menu, Submit Order / Group Order), an Error Library, a Webhooks section, and a Postman collection. SHORTFALL, recorded not scored: 'Log In' appears in the site chrome and the Recent Requests panel says 'Log in to see full request history' -- that gates request logging, not the reference. https://openapi-itsacheckmate.readme.io/reference/getting-started-with-your-api-1 · retrieved 2026-09-01

A
Unknown

extensibility-api-access-cost differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-partner-revshare

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-free-sandbox differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Yes

extensibility-oauth-partner-apps

The Marketplace for Developers portal states 'ItsaCheckmate uses the OAuth 2.0 protocol for authentication and authorization'. The grant is operator-initiated inside the merchant's own portal: the restaurant user opens the Market Place page, sees the third-party application listed with state 'Authorization Required', clicks Authorize and is shown a consent popup saying the app will have access to the location provided in the request, its menus, and the ability to place orders on that location; the app then receives a single-use verification code at its redirect URI and exchanges it for an access token plus refresh token. Grants are per location - 'For every location you want access for, you need to generate seprate [sic] pair of tokens' - and individually revocable: 'At any point of time after the authorization state has been moved to In progress, you can click Disconnect to destroy your current access tokens and start over'. Resource scopes are enforced, not merely described: the Get Menu endpoint states 'You can only access this API if you have an access token issued with the scope menus' and Submit Order 'with the scope orders'. No shared static API key path appears anywhere in the v2.2 reference. https://openapi-itsacheckmate.readme.io/reference/authorisation-request · retrieved 2026-08-04

A
Unknown

extensibility-webhooks-push

DoorDash Preferred Integration Partner status implies real-time order and 86ing signaling, but Checkmate publishes no webhook documentation.

F
Unknown

extensibility-webhook-reliability differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-order-injection-api

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-menu-write-api differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-data-symmetry differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-published-rate-limits

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-doordash-preferred differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-first-party-delivery-integrations differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-middleware-compatibility

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-accounting-connectors

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-payroll-export

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-bi-data-warehouse differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-app-marketplace

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-custom-fields-scripting

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-headless-embedded

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-api-versioning-deprecation

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

extensibility-data-portability-exit differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Reliability, offline & operations

No

reliability-offline-order-entry

No on-terminal software; order entry continuity is the integrated POS vendor's responsibility. https://itsacheckmate.com/integrations/ · retrieved 2026-08-01

E
Unknown

reliability-offline-card-auth differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-offline-decline-liability differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-lan-degraded-multi-terminal differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-local-transaction-engine differentiator

Not scored by this record.

No

reliability-offline-kds-printing

Checkmate does drive kitchen printers and KDS screens — the Portal FAQ heading is 'Do tickets print or show up on KDS screens instantly?' — but it drives them through the integrated POS from its own cloud, with no local component to keep routing while offline. The documented failure path is human, not device: 'If an order cannot be sent through our integration, our team will contact you via pre-established channels to ensure you are aware of the order and can complete it before the driver arrives.' The Clover printing path is likewise triggered only 'once the order is injected into the POS system', and a print that does not land within two minutes produces an email plus a web receipt, with the ticket reprinting only 'when the printer is back online' (article 8194923674139). Supersedes an earlier rationale that wrongly asserted Checkmate has no kitchen printing or KDS product at all; see reliability-printer-fallback. https://support.itsacheckmate.com/hc/en-us/articles/26977712762907 · retrieved 2026-08-04

B
Partial

reliability-printer-fallback

The alerting half is documented; the automatic failover half is not. Clover Native Printing 'triggers a print to the order printer once the order is injected into the POS system', 'sends a failed printing email to the user if the job is not printed within two minutes of the request', and 'informs the user about the unavailability of the printer to print the order receipt via email. Also, it provides basic order details and a link to view the HTML version of the order receipt by selecting the Web Receipt... When the printer is back online, the order receipt prints as requested.' Shortfall: the recovery path is an email alert plus a web receipt and a deferred reprint, not an automatic re-route to a backup printer or KDS station; it is documented only for the Clover integration; and for other POS the ticket-routing guidance sends the operator into the POS back end instead ('Ensure that all items in your integrated menu(s) have the correct Prep Station assigned to them', article 8159680010267). Orders that cannot be injected at all fall back to human outreach rather than a device: 'If an order cannot be sent through our integration, our team will contact you via pre-established channels' (Portal FAQs, article 26977712762907). https://support.itsacheckmate.com/hc/en-us/articles/8194923674139-Clover-Native-Printing · retrieved 2026-08-04

B
Unknown

reliability-sync-conflict-handling

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-offline-feature-matrix

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-public-status-page

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-contractual-uptime-sla differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-incident-postmortems

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-247-live-support

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-onsite-install differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-menu-build-service differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-hardware-replacement-sla

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-backup-restore

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-pci-dss-4-attestation

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-mfa-role-based-access

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-self-serve-training

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-failover-terminal-role differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

reliability-cellular-backup

Not scored by this record.

Commercial, compliance & data ownership

Unknown

commercial-month-to-month-contract differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-no-early-termination-fee differentiator

Not scored by this record.

No

commercial-autorenew-terms-published

Site claims 'flexible contracts' but publishes no contract terms, no auto-renewal term, and no cancellation notice window. https://itsacheckmate.com/ · retrieved 2026-08-01

B
Unknown

commercial-processing-not-bundled differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-interchange-plus-published differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-rate-increase-clause differentiator

Not scored by this record.

No

commercial-pricing-published

Site claims 'transparent fees' but publishes no dollar figures anywhere; engagement is via contact sales only. https://itsacheckmate.com/ · retrieved 2026-08-01

B
Unknown

commercial-module-unbundling differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-hardware-purchase-outright

Kiosk and digital menu board hardware is offered, but no published purchase price or lease terms were found.

F
Unknown

commercial-hardware-not-locked differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-implementation-fee-published

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-data-export-self-serve

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-export-customer-and-loyalty differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-post-termination-export-window differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-data-ownership-clause differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-source-available-selfhost

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-pci-p2pe-tokenization

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-pci-dss-4-controls

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-soc2-attestation

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-privacy-dsar-tooling

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-wcag-kiosk-accessibility differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Unknown

commercial-dual-pricing-compliant differentiator

Not scored by this record.

Adversarial verification

An independent pass was instructed to refute this record, defaulting to downgrade when uncertain. It challenged 14 values — 0 upheld, 0 downgraded, 0 upgraded. This is published in full because a reader who can see which values were contested, on what evidence, and which way they moved has something no affiliate-funded comparison offers.

Capability claims

ClaimAs first scoredVerdictWhat the verifier found
menu-pricing-modifier-price-by-parent-sizeunknown / grade F, placeholder rationale (never examined)resolve-to-partialThe Get Menu v2.2 reference and the Modifier Disambiguation IDs page settle this. Checkmate does represent a modifier priced differently under different parents, via a context-qualified id (<uuid>##CM_USE_ID##MenuItem:<item-id>##ModifierItem:<mod-id>), but that is one duplicated modifier instance per parent rather than a matrix, and the schema has no size dimension at all - sizes surface as ordinary modifier items or separate menu items with their own flat price. Pricing cannot be configured in Checkmate in any case: the Updating Menu Prices article states plainly that individual item and modifier price adjustments are not supported and all prices originate in the POS. source
menu-pricing-topping-quantity-tiersunknown / grade F, placeholder rationale (never examined)resolve-to-partialModifier quantity exists in the schema (allow_modifier_multiple_quantity on the modifier group, minimum_amount/maximum_amount, allows_mod_quantitieas on the menu meta) but only as a repeat count - the exact thing the claim says tiering is distinct from. Searched the full Get Menu reference payload: no tier field, no multiplier field, and the modifier object carries a single scalar price. Partial rather than no, because quantity handling is genuinely present; not yes, because there is no per-tier multiplier and Checkmate cannot set modifier prices at all. source
payments-gift-cardsunknown / grade F, placeholder rationale (never examined)resolve-to-partialTwo help-centre articles published June 2026 document first-party digital gift cards on Checkmate Direct Ordering - created, activated and loaded with credit, redeemed by QR code or card number, usable for full or partial payment. The shortfall is specific and stated by the vendor: physical gift cards and other gift card systems are not supported, and the only documented in-store, phone and drive-thru redemption route requires Toast POS with the Direct Ordering gift-card integration enabled, so group-wide redemption is unproven outside Toast estates. source
labor-granular-rbacunknown / grade F, placeholder rationale (never examined)resolve-to-yesThe Manage User Access permissions guide enumerates roughly forty individually assignable permissions across Menu, Location, User, Partner, Analytics and Other, including report-by-report grants and credential access; the companion Manage User Access Function article documents assigning and unassigning locations or brands per user. That is per-action, per-user, per-location granting rather than fixed cashier/manager/admin tiers, which is what the claim asks. Grade B vendor admin documentation, retrieved directly. source
labor-manager-override-auditunknown / grade F, placeholder rationale (never examined)resolve-to-partialThe Reporting API internal data tables show per-user attribution with timestamps for the privileged actions Checkmate has - who 86'd an item and when, who un-86'd it, who reported, was assigned, resolved and reviewed each order error, who cancelled an order - and it is queryable after the fact. Deliberately not scored yes: Checkmate has no register, documents no manager-override or approval flow, exposes no in-portal audit-log view, and never claims immutability. Deliberately not left unknown either, since the attribution half is documented in a primary field list. source
reporting-pmix-modifier-levelunknown / grade F, placeholder rationale (never examined)resolve-to-partialThe Insights Top Selling Items report has an explicit Modifier Details tab alongside Item Details, and the Sold Items Details API confirms the grain (item_type 'modifier_item') with quantity and a tax-exclusive subtotal. What is missing against the claim wording is the net-sales measure and the daypart and revenue-center filters - neither appears in the filters guide or in any documented API field list, and revenue centre is not a dimension Checkmate would have, since it only sees digital-channel orders. source
extensibility-oauth-partner-appsunknown / grade F, placeholder rationale (never examined)resolve-to-yesThe first pass recorded that the site routes developers to a Partner With Us contact flow and concluded no readable API reference existed. There is one: the v2.2 Marketplace for Developers reference at openapi-itsacheckmate.readme.io, publicly readable, with an llms.txt index. It documents OAuth 2.0 explicitly, a merchant-side Authorize/Disconnect consent flow in the Checkmate portal, per-location access and refresh token pairs, and endpoint-level scope enforcement ('scope menus', 'scope orders'). Every element of the claim is met at grade A. source
reliability-printer-fallbackunknown / grade F, placeholder rationale (never examined)resolve-to-partialClover Native Printing is the only documented behaviour on this axis: a two-minute print-failure timer that emails the user, supplies an HTML web receipt link, and reprints once the printer returns. That satisfies the alert half of the claim and gives an out-of-band fallback channel, but there is no automatic re-route to a backup printer or KDS station, and it is Clover-specific - the Toast article pushes routing fixes back into the POS back end. Scored partial with that shortfall named rather than yes. source
payments-refund-void-controlsunknown / grade F, placeholder rationale (never examined)resolve-to-partialThe Direct Ordering admin documentation settles the authorization half: five ranked roles with a per-function minimum role for Refund Orders, Cancel Orders and both Edit Orders functions, and the refunds article states refunds are processed 'depending on account permissions'. Voids are defined too - full-order cancels of uncharged Pending/Open orders only, no partial voids, refunds irreversible. Not yes because the claim's audit half is nowhere documented: no article describes an audit log identifying the approver, immutable or otherwise, and discounts and no-sales have no analogue in a product with no register or cash drawer. source
delivery-dispatch-boardunknown / grade F, placeholder rationale (never examined)resolve-to-noPositive evidence of absence rather than a failed search: the Admin Panel orientation enumerates every section of the management portal, the Orders section contains exactly two screens (Orders Overview and Order Management) and neither shows drivers or batches runs, and delivery fulfilment is explicitly via third-party last-mile integrations (DoorDash Drive, Relay, Uber Direct) with the Delivery report covering 'orders fulfilled through a delivery provider'. With no driver entity in the product - delivery-driver-roster is already a sourced no - driver availability and multi-order run batching have nothing to exist on. The lone driver-named artefact, the Driver Wait Time Report, is a two-day-delayed retrospective on DoorDash and Uber Eats couriers. source
delivery-zone-pricingunknown / grade F, placeholder rationale (never examined)resolve-to-partialSetting Up Delivery Zones documents real zones - radius or custom shape per revenue center, automatic eligibility from the entered customer address, numbered priorities for overlapping stores - so the address-validated zone machinery exists. But the claim is about per-zone economics, and no per-zone fee, order minimum, or promise time appears anywhere: each revenue center has a single zone, and the only documented fee path is adding a flat delivery fee in the POS and emailing support to apply it per platform. Partial with that shortfall named; not no, because an undocumented Advanced Delivery settings page exists and fee configuration may live there. source
digital-account-saved-paymentunknown / grade F, placeholder rationale (never examined)resolve-to-yesThree help-centre articles read directly cover the full claim: logged-in guests save credit cards to their profile for faster checkout on web and mobile app (with brand-level Prevent/Hide/Choice controls), the Customer Details page shows saved addresses with last-used dates, and the Favorites article states reordering a past order and paying with a saved credit card 'takes only a few clicks' from the homepage or Order History. Table-stakes claim at grade B vendor admin documentation, so yes is supportable. source
guest-loyalty-unified-profileunknown / grade F, placeholder rationale (never examined)resolve-to-partialOne profile per guest exists in Direct Ordering with loyalty balances, order history and addresses, and in-store transactions can reach it - but only on Toast, only by staff-initiated QR/phone/email lookup at checkout, with the vendor stating outright that linking a card does not automatically earn points in-store. Kiosk attachment is undocumented and no dedup/merge behavior is documented anywhere, which the claim wording explicitly requires. Partial, with those three gaps named. source
guest-loyalty-lifecycle-automationunknown / grade F, placeholder rationale (never examined)resolve-to-yesSetting Up Automated Email Campaigns documents exactly the three lifecycle triggers the claim names: Birthday (before/on/after), Last Order Date (on/after - lapsed win-back), and Order Placed (on/after - post-purchase thank-you), each as a standing trigger-based campaign rather than a manual send, and Reward Events adds recurring automated rewards 'triggered by events such as birthdays, last orders, or registrations'. Grade B vendor admin documentation on a table-stakes claim. source

Sources

Every URL this record cites. 34 in total.