Vendors / Mainstream commercial restaurant POS
Chowbus POS
A vertical-language POS bought largely on free hardware and kiosk discounts rather than on published price, with a broad marketed catalog (POS, KDS, kiosk, QR, tablet ordering, loyalty, SMS, multi-location) but essentially no public product documentation to verify any of it against.
scored live legacy rubric
- Claims in scope
- 278
- Scored
- 45
- Assessed
- 20
- Unknown
- 258
- Not applicable
- 36
- Cells challenged
- 1
unknown, never as no.Identity
- Owner
- Chowbus, Inc. — private, US (Chicago). Began as an Asian-cuisine delivery marketplace and pivoted into restaurant POS; ownership/investor detail not disclosed on its own site.
- Who it is for
- Asian and other culturally-rooted restaurants in North America — boba and QSR concepts, single-location full service, and multi-location operators; multilingual menus and QR ordering are the wedge.
- Site
- https://pos.chowbus.com/
Pricing
transparency: quote-only · unit: per location, quote-based; hardware subsidized or free for qualified new merchants · processor lock-in: unknown
- Software
- Three named tiers — Starter, Efficiency, Growth — described as 'clear tiers with custom quotes'; no dollar figures published. Acquisition offers instead of prices: '$0 upfront hardware available for qualified restaurants', 'Free Restaurant AI POS — $826 in hardware, on us', self-ordering kiosks at 50% off for new restaurants, and 'no contracts'. Site states additional hardware, software add-ons and payment processing terms may apply, and that final price depends on hardware and restaurant size.
Capabilities
Every claim is binary and checkable. Grades: A primary documentation · B product documentation · C pricing or feature page · D marketing claim · E third-party reporting · F inference with no source. A yes on a differentiator claim requires A or B.
Order capture & FOH workflow
order-capture-floor-plan-editor
Not scored by this record.
order-capture-seat-level
Not scored by this record.
order-capture-coursing-hold-fire
Not scored by this record.
order-capture-split-merge
POS product page lists 'Guest Mode' — "Enable 'Guest Mode' for more efficient ordering and split-check processing" — and the 2026 summer launch note says core POS "introduced Table Overview floor plans, card-style order lists, and a smoother check-splitting experience" (https://www.chowbus.com/news/chowbus-summer-launch-event-epic-upgrades-to-flagship-products). Shortfall: splitting is asserted only as a capability; nowhere on the vendor's site are the split modes enumerated (by item, by seat, even N-way, arbitrary dollar/percent), and merging checks or tables — let alone after a partial payment — is not described on any product, hardware or blog page. https://www.chowbus.com/products/point-of-sale · retrieved 2026-08-03
order-capture-bar-tab-preauth differentiator
Not scored by this record.
order-capture-transfer-audit
Not scored by this record.
order-capture-native-handheld
Not scored by this record.
order-capture-offline-order-entry
No public offline-behavior documentation found; the criterion also requires the vendor publish what does and does not work offline, which it does not.
order-capture-qr-same-check differentiator
Not scored by this record.
order-capture-kiosk-first-party differentiator
Not scored by this record.
order-capture-drive-thru
Not scored by this record.
order-capture-drive-thru-timers
Not scored by this record.
order-capture-voice-ai differentiator
Not scored by this record.
order-capture-throttling differentiator
Not scored by this record.
order-capture-scheduled-orders
Branded mobile app page states the guest app offers "Support for instant pickup or scheduled orders", so future-dated orders are accepted on the first-party digital channel. Shortfall: no per-channel lead-time configuration is documented, and nothing states the order is held and injected into the make queue at a computed fire time rather than printing on receipt — the KDS page (https://www.chowbus.com/hardware/kitchen-display-system) describes no scheduled/timed release behaviour. https://www.chowbus.com/products/branded-mobile-app-for-restaurants · retrieved 2026-08-03
order-capture-catering
Not scored by this record.
order-capture-order-ready-signal differentiator
Not scored by this record.
order-capture-void-comp-controls
Not scored by this record.
Menu, modifiers & pricing engine
menu-pricing-nested-modifiers
Vendor product-update post on third-layer menu management: "It now allows for three-level menu item configurations, catering to various complex menu setup requirements", walked through with a seafood-platter example where a choice at one level opens a further required choice (item, then flavor, then spice level) and options can carry surcharges. Shortfall: three levels are documented, but independent min/max selection counts per level and an explicit forced-selection (required) flag are never described as configurable fields — the required-looking behaviour appears only in the worked example. https://www.chowbus.com/blog/restaurant-pos-update-third-layer-menu-management · retrieved 2026-08-03
menu-pricing-modifier-price-by-parent-size
Checked the third-layer menu-management update (https://www.chowbus.com/blog/restaurant-pos-update-third-layer-menu-management), the menu-management setup post (https://www.chowbus.com/blog/restaurant-pos-update-menu-management, whose documented object model is Menu - Category - Dish - Customizations - Dish Preference Settings), and the pizza, QSR and bubble-tea vertical pages. Modifier surcharges are shown only as a flat per-option amount ('an extra $2 charge', '$20 on top of the combo price'); a price matrix keyed on parent item and selected size is neither described nor ruled out. No vendor help centre exists to check further.
menu-pricing-fractional-placement differentiator
Not scored by this record.
menu-pricing-half-and-half-rule differentiator
Not scored by this record.
menu-pricing-topping-quantity-tiers
Checked both menu-management product-update posts and the bubble-tea and pizza vertical pages. Customizations are described as option lists ('ice level, sweetness level, toppings') with per-option surcharges; a light/regular/extra/double quantity tier carrying a price multiplier distinct from adding the modifier twice is not mentioned anywhere, and the vendor publishes no configuration reference that would settle it.
menu-pricing-size-style-matrix differentiator
Not scored by this record.
menu-pricing-included-allowance differentiator
Not scored by this record.
menu-pricing-combos
Not scored by this record.
menu-pricing-upsell-prompts differentiator
Not scored by this record.
menu-pricing-86-propagation
Not scored by this record.
menu-pricing-countdown-auto-86 differentiator
Not scored by this record.
menu-pricing-dayparting
Not scored by this record.
menu-pricing-channel-price-books
Not scored by this record.
menu-pricing-dual-pricing differentiator
Not scored by this record.
menu-pricing-allergen-nutrition
Not scored by this record.
menu-pricing-recipe-linkage differentiator
Not scored by this record.
menu-pricing-3p-menu-push
Not scored by this record.
menu-pricing-dynamic-pricing
Not scored by this record.
Payments & money movement
payments-processor-choice differentiator
Not scored by this record.
payments-published-rates differentiator
Not scored by this record.
payments-dual-pricing differentiator
Not scored by this record.
payments-surcharge-guardrails differentiator
Not scored by this record.
payments-emv-nfc
Integrated payment processing and first-party order devices are marketed; EMV/NFC and Apple Pay/Google Pay are not enumerated publicly.
payments-softpos-tap-to-pay differentiator
Not scored by this record.
payments-pay-at-table
Not scored by this record.
payments-qr-guest-pay differentiator
Not scored by this record.
payments-tip-adjust
Not scored by this record.
payments-tip-pooling differentiator
Not scored by this record.
payments-offline-store-and-forward differentiator
Not scored by this record.
payments-offline-decline-liability differentiator
Not scored by this record.
payments-gift-cards
Gift card product page: "end-to-end support for both digital and physical gift cards", "dedicated reports fully track gift card fund flows", and "chain restaurant customers can use gift cards at any location" — so first-party cards and group-wide redemption are established. Existence is corroborated by the offline-mode post, which lists "Selling gift cards or processing gift card payments" among the functions that stop when the network drops. Shortfall: redemption through the vendor's own online-ordering / branded-app channel is not documented on the gift card page or the online-ordering page, and balance visibility is described as reporting rather than a real-time balance lookup. https://www.chowbus.com/products/gift-cards-for-restaurants · retrieved 2026-08-03
payments-house-accounts
Not scored by this record.
payments-split-tender
Not scored by this record.
payments-refund-void-controls
Checked the POS product page (staff management is described only as "configure permissions flexibly"), the full-service and QSR vertical pages, the streamline-operations page, and the 2026 summer launch note — none mentions manager-PIN authorization for voids/refunds/no-sales or an audit log naming the approver. The only material that discusses void approval (https://www.chowbus.com/blog/pos-transaction) is generic education about POS systems in the abstract, not a description of Chowbus behaviour, so it cannot carry the cell. Chowbus publishes no help centre (help.chowbus.com and support.chowbus.com do not resolve; pos.chowbus.com 301s to the marketing site).
payments-chargeback-tooling differentiator
Not scored by this record.
payments-card-on-file differentiator
Not scored by this record.
payments-payout-timing differentiator
Not scored by this record.
payments-p2pe-pci4
Not scored by this record.
Kitchen & production
kitchen-station-routing
First-party KDS hardware is marketed; per-location routing rules by item, category, order type or revenue center are not documented.
kitchen-expo-consolidation
KDS hardware page describes "Multiple workstation screens with dish-specific assignments and three display modes", "Automatic dish consolidation gives kitchen staff a clear picture", and "Full-order display at expediting station with double-tap confirmation" — an expo station showing the whole order across prep stations. Shortfall: nothing states that order completion is gated on every contributing station having bumped its own items; the documented expo action is a manual double-tap confirmation, not an all-stations-complete rule. https://www.chowbus.com/hardware/kitchen-display-system · retrieved 2026-08-03
kitchen-course-firing differentiator
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-prep-time-pacing differentiator
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-order-throttling differentiator
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-channel-pause-propagation differentiator
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-order-ready-callback differentiator
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-bump-bar-hardware
Read the KDS hardware page in full (https://www.chowbus.com/hardware/kitchen-display-system): interaction is described only as touchscreen with "double-tap confirmation", and the hardware is characterised by its "kitchen-grade waterproof and oil-resistant design". No bump bar, programmable keypad, or list of supported peripheral models appears there or on the QSR/pizza vertical pages, but the page is a marketing sheet rather than a hardware compatibility list, so it does not positively exclude one.
kitchen-all-day-counts
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-sla-alerts
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-printer-fallback differentiator
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-offline-operation differentiator
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-item-build-screens differentiator
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-pizza-fractional-display differentiator
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-recall-refire
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-order-modification-alerts differentiator
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-guest-ready-notification differentiator
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-waste-logging
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-speed-of-service-reporting
Not scored by this record.
kitchen-prep-forecasting
Not scored by this record.
Delivery, dispatch & third-party channels
delivery-driver-roster
Only third-party delivery integrations (DoorDash, Uber Eats, Grubhub) appear in the catalog; no in-house driver module is described.
delivery-dispatch-board
Read the third-party delivery integration page (integration with "nearly 50 major third-party delivery platforms in the U.S., including Uber Eats, DoorDash, Grubhub, Fantuan, HungryPanda") and the full product-catalog page at /restaurant-pos/switch-to-chowbus. Neither describes a dispatch or driver-assignment screen, undispatched-order queue, or multi-order run batching. Because no in-house driver module is documented at all, there is nothing to score the dispatch board against and no vendor statement that it is absent.
delivery-route-map differentiator
Not scored by this record.
delivery-driver-tracking differentiator
Not scored by this record.
delivery-zones-polygon differentiator
Not scored by this record.
delivery-zone-pricing
Checked the third-party delivery integration page and the online-ordering product page and product-update post. First-party delivery is not described as a fulfilment mode at all — the online-ordering flow is presented as pickup and reservations — so per-zone delivery fees, order minimums and promise times are neither documented nor denied. No help centre exists to check the admin configuration.
delivery-address-validation
Not scored by this record.
delivery-driver-comp differentiator
Not scored by this record.
delivery-cash-reconcile
Not scored by this record.
delivery-daas-dispatch
Not scored by this record.
delivery-daas-fallback differentiator
Not scored by this record.
delivery-3p-direct-integration differentiator
Not scored by this record.
delivery-3p-injection
Not scored by this record.
delivery-menu-push
Not scored by this record.
delivery-86-sync
Not scored by this record.
delivery-store-pause
Not scored by this record.
delivery-3p-reconciliation differentiator
Not scored by this record.
delivery-injection-error-visibility differentiator
Not scored by this record.
delivery-tracking-page
Not scored by this record.
delivery-promise-time differentiator
Not scored by this record.
delivery-offline-behavior
Not scored by this record.
Digital ordering & guest-facing channels
digital-first-party-web
Digital Experience Suite includes online ordering on the restaurant's website plus a branded mobile app; commission model and direct POS write-through are not documented. https://www.chowbus.com/ · retrieved 2026-08-01
digital-menu-single-source
Branded app product page states "Menus, pricing, and membership benefits sync automatically with your POS". The online-ordering product-update post makes the same point for the web channel — menu synchronisation from the POS "eliminates duplicate data entry" (https://www.chowbus.com/blog/restaurant-pos-update-online-ordering) — and the POS product page describes availability edits as "Quick-adjust dish availability with a simple long press, with changes instantly synced across all menus". Three first-party pages agree that the digital menu is generated from the POS menu record with no separate build. https://www.chowbus.com/products/branded-mobile-app-for-restaurants · retrieved 2026-08-03
digital-native-app differentiator
Not scored by this record.
digital-account-saved-payment
Read the branded mobile app page and the online-ordering product page and update post. The app documents guest browsing ("Browse as a guest" with registration deferred to checkout), one-tap member login, points and member pricing, and "Multiple payment methods (credit card, debit card, Apple Pay)" online — but says nothing about a stored address book, tokenized cards on file, or one-tap reorder of a previous order. Account creation clearly exists; the three specific saved-state features the claim requires are simply not addressed on any published page.
digital-upsell-engine differentiator
Not scored by this record.
digital-scheduled-pacing
Not scored by this record.
digital-fulfillment-modes
Not scored by this record.
digital-qr-table
Not scored by this record.
digital-kiosk differentiator
Not scored by this record.
digital-group-ordering
Not scored by this record.
digital-catering-portal differentiator
Not scored by this record.
digital-voice-ai-phone differentiator
Not scored by this record.
digital-drivethru-ai
Not scored by this record.
digital-sms-ordering
Not scored by this record.
digital-google-order differentiator
Not scored by this record.
digital-apple-business-connect
Not scored by this record.
digital-loyalty-attach
Not scored by this record.
digital-subscriptions
Not scored by this record.
digital-promo-parity
Not scored by this record.
digital-guest-data-ownership differentiator
Not scored by this record.
digital-checkout-pci-sca
Not scored by this record.
digital-surcharge-transparency differentiator
Not scored by this record.
Guest data, loyalty & marketing
guest-loyalty-unified-profile
Loyalty product page: "Quick membership registration through tablets, QR codes, and other channels, using phone numbers as unique identifiers, applicable across all channels", and the program "works across all Chowbus platforms—kiosks, tablets, QR codes, and apps—with instant data syncing". A single phone-keyed identity spanning POS, kiosk and first-party digital is therefore documented. Shortfall: dedup/merge behaviour is not documented at all — nothing describes what happens to duplicate or conflicting records, or whether email is a matching key alongside phone. https://www.chowbus.com/products/restaurant-loyalty-programs · retrieved 2026-08-03
guest-loyalty-thirdparty-identity-attach differentiator
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-accrual-models
Loyalty and rewards plus a promotion engine are marketed; accrual models are not enumerated.
guest-loyalty-tiers differentiator
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-offline-behavior differentiator
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-offer-stacking-rules differentiator
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-targeted-offers differentiator
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-rfm-segmentation differentiator
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-lifecycle-automation
SMS marketing and a promotion engine are marketed; triggered always-on lifecycle campaigns are not described.
guest-loyalty-native-email-sms differentiator
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-consent-management
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-10dlc-registration
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-campaign-attribution differentiator
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-data-export-portability differentiator
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-review-capture-routing differentiator
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-referral-program
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-wallet-pass differentiator
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-privacy-rights-tooling
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-redemption-fraud-controls
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-ai-offer-recommendation differentiator
Not scored by this record.
guest-loyalty-stored-value-gift
Not scored by this record.
Labor & workforce
labor-clock-in-at-pos
Full-service vertical page, staff management: "Customize staff permissions, track attendance, and calculate wages and tips effortlessly" — attendance tracking is a POS staff-management feature, not a separate module. Corroborated operationally by 7shifts' partner page for its shipped Chowbus connector (https://www.7shifts.com/integrations/chowbus/): the integration offers "Real Time Labor Data Sync" and "Employee Sync from POS to 7shifts", i.e. time punches originate in the Chowbus POS and stream out in real time. Terminal authentication is by PIN — the offline-mode note documents previously logged-in PIN codes continuing to work without network. Chowbus sells no time-clock device at all: the sitemap's six /hardware/* pages are customer pickup screen, handheld, KDS, QR ordering, kiosk and tablet ordering, so there is no separate time-clock hardware to require. Badge or card punch-in is mentioned nowhere; PIN is the only documented mechanism. https://www.chowbus.com/restaurant-pos/full-service-pos-system · retrieved 2026-08-04
labor-photo-punch-verification differentiator
Not scored by this record.
labor-offline-time-punch differentiator
Not scored by this record.
labor-granular-rbac
POS product page, Staff Management: "Track employee performance precisely, configure permissions flexibly, and boost team efficiency"; the full-service page repeats "Customize staff permissions, track attendance, and calculate wages and tips effortlessly". Configurable (not fixed-tier) permissions are therefore claimed. Shortfall: the vendor never enumerates which discrete actions are individually grantable — void, comp, discount, refund, drawer open, price change, report access — nor whether a grant can be scoped per location, and there is no admin guide in which to check. https://www.chowbus.com/products/point-of-sale · retrieved 2026-08-03
labor-manager-override-audit
Checked the POS product page, the full-service and streamline-operations pages, the multi-location management page, and the 2026 summer launch product note (which covers Kiosk 2.0, KDS waterfall display, Table Overview, Membership 2.0, 7shifts integration and Tip Allocation 2.0). None mentions manager override attribution or an immutable, queryable audit trail. Chowbus publishes no admin guide or help centre in which override logging would normally be described.
labor-native-scheduling differentiator
Not scored by this record.
labor-demand-labor-forecast differentiator
Not scored by this record.
labor-realtime-labor-percent differentiator
Not scored by this record.
labor-overtime-prevention differentiator
Not scored by this record.
labor-break-compliance-by-state differentiator
Not scored by this record.
labor-minor-labor-rules
Not scored by this record.
labor-tip-pooling-rules
Not scored by this record.
labor-tip-distribution-audit-trail
Not scored by this record.
labor-qualified-tips-w2-reporting differentiator
Not scored by this record.
labor-native-payroll differentiator
Not scored by this record.
labor-payroll-export-formats
Not scored by this record.
labor-shift-swap-workflow differentiator
Not scored by this record.
labor-server-performance-metrics differentiator
Not scored by this record.
Inventory, purchasing & cost control
inventory-recipe-bom-costing
Chowbus's own complete first-party catalog enumerates every module by suite — Operational Excellence (POS, waitlist, reservation, Chowbus Go, review management, multi-location), Digital Experience, Hardware, Marketing & Growth, AI Suite, Third-Party Integrations, Access Capital — and contains no inventory, ingredient or food-cost module. The pricing page's three tiers (Starter, Efficiency, Growth) likewise name no inventory feature, and https://www.chowbus.com/products/inventory-management returns HTTP 404. The nearest published stock behaviour is dish-level availability ('quick-adjust dish availability with a simple long press'), i.e. item-count 86ing, not ingredient depletion. Chowbus's own bubble-tea blog describes recipe-level ingredient mapping as something a shop 'benefits from' in the abstract and never attributes it to its own product. Without any ingredient layer there is no multi-level recipe/BOM with sub-recipes or automatic plate-cost recalculation. https://www.chowbus.com/restaurant-pos/switch-to-chowbus · retrieved 2026-08-04
inventory-unit-conversion-yields
The vendor's own product catalog (https://www.chowbus.com/restaurant-pos/switch-to-chowbus) enumerates every suite — Operational Excellence, Digital Experience, Hardware, Marketing & Growth, AI, Integration & Finance — and contains no inventory module, and the sitemap has no inventory product page. A generic blog post does list "Inventory Reports – Track stock levels and costs" (https://www.chowbus.com/blog/pos-reporting), so some stock tracking may exist. Purchase/recipe/count units with conversion factors and a yield percentage are documented nowhere; that conflict is why this stays unresolved rather than becoming a no.
inventory-theoretical-vs-actual differentiator
Not scored by this record.
inventory-realtime-depletion differentiator
Not scored by this record.
inventory-86-auto-sync differentiator
Not scored by this record.
inventory-count-modes
Same sources as inventory-unit-conversion-yields: no inventory module appears in the vendor's product catalog or sitemap, while a blog page references generic "Inventory Reports". Full physical counts, ad-hoc spot counts, scheduled cycle counts and per-count variance history are not described on any first-party page, and no help centre exists to check the count workflow.
inventory-mobile-count-offline
Not scored by this record.
inventory-vendor-catalogs-edi differentiator
Not scored by this record.
inventory-invoice-ocr differentiator
Not scored by this record.
inventory-price-change-alerts differentiator
Not scored by this record.
inventory-par-auto-suggest differentiator
Not scored by this record.
inventory-waste-logging
Not scored by this record.
inventory-shelf-life-expiry
Not scored by this record.
inventory-bar-partial-bottle
Not scored by this record.
inventory-cogs-gl-export
Not scored by this record.
inventory-native-not-partner differentiator
Not scored by this record.
inventory-menu-margin-linkage differentiator
Not scored by this record.
Reporting, BI & data access
reporting-realtime-dashboard
Chowbus Go is a dedicated merchant mobile app: 'View real-time business data—from overview to hourly breakdowns, order types, dishes, and staff performance', with 'Daily closing reports in the palm of your hand', and 'Cloud-based POS system syncs data in real-time, keeping you informed of orders and staff activities even when you're off-site' — the off-premise leg. The browser leg is the POS product page's 'Access and export data from your computer for deep analysis of orders, staff performance, and more' plus the multi-location page's HQ/store account switching on 'web or mobile'. Refresh latency is stated only as vendor 'real-time'/'syncs instantly' language; no interval is published. https://www.chowbus.com/products/chowbus-go · retrieved 2026-08-04
reporting-eod-closeout
Checked the POS product page, the multi-location management page, the QSR vertical page ("Detailed real-time reporting on sales, prep times, menu performance, and customer trends") and the vendor's reporting explainer (https://www.chowbus.com/blog/pos-reporting), which lists report families — sales, payment, employee, inventory, labor — but is generic POS education rather than a Chowbus report catalog. No single end-of-day document reconciling gross/net sales, tax, tips, discounts, refunds, tender types and expected cash deposit is named on any first-party page.
reporting-pmix-modifier-level
POS product page: "Break down metrics by time period, order type, menu category, and more—with one-click access to data reports across different locations"; the multi-location page adds that "Reports are detailed down to the item level, empowering data for menu optimization". Item-level product mix sliceable by daypart and order type is therefore established. Shortfall: modifier-level PMIX is not documented anywhere — no first-party page states that customizations/modifiers are reported with their own quantity and sales lines — and revenue-center filtering is not mentioned either. https://www.chowbus.com/products/point-of-sale · retrieved 2026-08-03
reporting-comps-voids-audit
Not scored by this record.
reporting-cash-over-short
Not scored by this record.
reporting-labor-productivity
Not scored by this record.
reporting-server-scorecards differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reporting-channel-profitability differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reporting-scheduled-delivery
Not scored by this record.
reporting-public-api differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reporting-webhooks differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reporting-api-not-upcharged differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reporting-tier-paywall differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reporting-history-retention differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reporting-anomaly-alerts differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reporting-nl-query
Not scored by this record.
reporting-guest-cohorts differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reporting-sales-forecast differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reporting-tip-tax-compliance
Not scored by this record.
Multi-location, franchise & enterprise governance
multi-location-org-hierarchy
Multi-location management from one platform is marketed and the Growth tier targets multi-location operators; a named 3-level hierarchy object is not documented.
multi-location-central-menu-publish
Read the multi-location management product page in full: it covers switching "between the headquarters account and the accounts of each store with a single click", group-vs-store reporting, and cross-store membership and gift-card fund flows — but is silent on authoring a corporate menu and publishing it to a chosen set of stores, and on any publish/version history. The group-level loyalty update post and the how-to-manage-multiple-locations blog post were also checked and address membership, not menu propagation.
multi-location-price-zones
Checked the multi-location management page and both menu-management product-update posts. Menu pricing is documented only per dish, with regular and member price tiers on the same item record (https://www.chowbus.com/blog/restaurant-pos-update-menu-management); no location-group, channel or daypart price tier is described, and the vendor publishes nothing that would confirm or exclude one.
multi-location-consolidated-reporting
Not scored by this record.
multi-location-cross-location-giftcard
Not scored by this record.
multi-location-cross-location-loyalty
Not scored by this record.
multi-location-multi-brand differentiator
Not scored by this record.
multi-location-multi-tax-jurisdiction
Not scored by this record.
multi-location-central-labor-policy
Not scored by this record.
Hardware & physical footprint
hardware-commodity-devices differentiator
Not scored by this record.
hardware-os-platforms
POS product page names the client OS: "Running on iOS-powered Apple devices, our point of sale system performs smoothly and reliably" (Chowbus repeats the sentence verbatim in its blurb on 7shifts' partner page, https://www.7shifts.com/integrations/chowbus/), and the offline-mode note likewise describes the POS app on iOS devices. Shortfall: the claim's second half is unmet — no minimum iOS version and no device specs are published anywhere. All six /hardware/* pages (customer pickup screen, handheld, KDS, QR ordering, kiosk, tablet ordering) are marketing sheets with no model names, OS versions or spec tables — the handheld page's only hardware statements are 'a powerful and portable device that fits in your palm' with a 'built-in scanner' and Wi-Fi — and no help centre or admin guide exists in which requirements would be stated (sitemap enumeration; help.chowbus.com and support.chowbus.com do not resolve). https://www.chowbus.com/products/point-of-sale · retrieved 2026-08-04
hardware-handheld-purpose-built
Not scored by this record.
hardware-handheld-battery-swap differentiator
Not scored by this record.
hardware-handheld-lte
Not scored by this record.
hardware-offline-mode
Vendor product-update note documents offline mode function by function. Works offline: "Creating orders", "Sending orders to the kitchen printer", "Accepting cash and card payments", "Printing customer receipts", "Collecting tips"; the terminal switches to offline mode automatically after 30 seconds without network and previously logged-in PIN codes keep working. Explicitly does not work offline: selling or redeeming gift cards, accruing or redeeming loyalty points, coupons, and order sync/sharing between Chowbus devices; tablet ordering, QR ordering and kiosks also stop. Locally stored data syncs on reconnect, with a warning not to delete the app before recovery. This is exactly the published degrade-list the claim requires. https://www.chowbus.com/blog/restaurant-pos-update-offline-mode · retrieved 2026-08-03
hardware-kds
KDS listed as a first-party hardware component of the platform, large-screen monitors for kitchen order flow. https://www.chowbus.com/ · retrieved 2026-08-01
hardware-kiosk differentiator
Not scored by this record.
hardware-drive-thru
Not scored by this record.
hardware-printer-compatibility
Not scored by this record.
hardware-peripherals
Not scored by this record.
hardware-p2pe-terminal
Not scored by this record.
hardware-tap-to-phone differentiator
Not scored by this record.
hardware-pricing-transparency differentiator
Not scored by this record.
hardware-ownership-vs-lease differentiator
Not scored by this record.
hardware-usable-after-churn differentiator
Not scored by this record.
hardware-rma-sla differentiator
Not scored by this record.
hardware-byod
Not scored by this record.
hardware-remote-device-management differentiator
Not scored by this record.
hardware-selfpour-scales
Not scored by this record.
hardware-callerid-integration
Not scored by this record.
Integrations, API & extensibility
extensibility-public-api-docs
No public developer portal or API reference found.
extensibility-api-access-cost differentiator
Not scored by this record.
extensibility-free-sandbox differentiator
Not scored by this record.
extensibility-oauth-partner-apps
Retrieved the full sitemap (https://www.chowbus.com/sitemap.xml, HTTP 200, ~800 KB): it enumerates every public page and contains no /developers, /api or /docs path, and no developer portal exists on any other Chowbus host (help.chowbus.com and support.chowbus.com do not resolve). A partner integration demonstrably exists — 7shifts ships a Chowbus POS connector — but its knowledge-base article returns HTTP 403 to automated retrieval (kb.7shifts.com), and Chowbus itself publishes no auth model, so whether third-party access uses OAuth 2.0 scoped grants or static keys cannot be determined.
extensibility-webhooks-push
Same sitemap enumeration as extensibility-oauth-partner-apps: no developer documentation of any kind is published, so there is no order-lifecycle event reference to check for push webhooks versus polling. The 7shifts integration proves some interface exists; nothing public describes its shape.
extensibility-webhook-reliability differentiator
Not scored by this record.
extensibility-order-injection-api
Not scored by this record.
extensibility-menu-write-api differentiator
Not scored by this record.
extensibility-doordash-preferred differentiator
Not scored by this record.
extensibility-first-party-delivery-integrations differentiator
Not scored by this record.
extensibility-middleware-compatibility
Not scored by this record.
extensibility-accounting-connectors
Not scored by this record.
extensibility-payroll-export
Not scored by this record.
extensibility-app-marketplace
Not scored by this record.
extensibility-headless-embedded
Not scored by this record.
extensibility-data-portability-exit differentiator
Not scored by this record.
Reliability, offline & operations
reliability-offline-order-entry
Offline-mode product note lists "Creating orders", "Sending orders to the kitchen printer" and "Printing customer receipts" among the functions that continue with no network, with automatic cutover after 30 seconds and cached PIN login. Order entry, kitchen routing and check printing therefore all continue on-terminal. The one documented caveat is that orders do not sync or share between Chowbus devices while offline, which limits multi-terminal working but not on-terminal entry. https://www.chowbus.com/blog/restaurant-pos-update-offline-mode · retrieved 2026-08-03
reliability-offline-card-auth differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reliability-offline-decline-liability differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reliability-lan-degraded-multi-terminal differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reliability-local-transaction-engine differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reliability-offline-kds-printing
Offline-mode note lists "Sending orders to the kitchen printer" as functional without a network connection, and the KDS hardware page independently advertises "100% functional offline operation" (https://www.chowbus.com/hardware/kitchen-display-system). The claim is satisfied by kitchen printer routing alone; both halves are asserted first-party. https://www.chowbus.com/blog/restaurant-pos-update-offline-mode · retrieved 2026-08-03
reliability-printer-fallback
Checked the offline-mode product note, the KDS hardware page, the QSR and full-service vertical pages and the 2026 summer launch note. The offline note enumerates what degrades on loss of network but says nothing about an unreachable printer; no page describes a designated backup printer or station, automatic failover, or a staff alert on printer failure. There is no admin guide in which printer groups would normally be configured.
reliability-sync-conflict-handling
Not scored by this record.
reliability-offline-feature-matrix
Not scored by this record.
reliability-public-status-page
Not scored by this record.
reliability-247-live-support
Not scored by this record.
reliability-onsite-install differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reliability-menu-build-service differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reliability-hardware-replacement-sla
Not scored by this record.
reliability-pci-dss-4-attestation
Not scored by this record.
reliability-mfa-role-based-access
Not scored by this record.
reliability-self-serve-training
Not scored by this record.
reliability-failover-terminal-role differentiator
Not scored by this record.
reliability-cellular-backup
Not scored by this record.
Commercial, compliance & data ownership
commercial-month-to-month-contract differentiator
Not scored by this record.
commercial-no-early-termination-fee differentiator
Not scored by this record.
commercial-autorenew-terms-published
Marketing states 'no contracts', but no contract terms document, renewal term or cancellation-notice window is publicly accessible. https://www.chowbus.com/pos-plans/pricing · retrieved 2026-08-01
commercial-processing-not-bundled differentiator
Not scored by this record.
commercial-interchange-plus-published differentiator
Not scored by this record.
commercial-rate-increase-clause differentiator
Not scored by this record.
commercial-pricing-published
Vendor's own pricing page names three tiers but explicitly routes to custom quotes; no per-location or per-terminal dollar figures. https://www.chowbus.com/pos-plans/pricing · retrieved 2026-08-01
commercial-module-unbundling differentiator
Not scored by this record.
commercial-hardware-purchase-outright
'$0 upfront hardware' and '$826 in hardware, on us' indicate subsidized rather than published-price outright purchase; whether outright purchase is offered is not stated.
commercial-hardware-not-locked differentiator
Not scored by this record.
commercial-data-export-self-serve
Not scored by this record.
commercial-export-customer-and-loyalty differentiator
Not scored by this record.
commercial-post-termination-export-window differentiator
Not scored by this record.
commercial-data-ownership-clause differentiator
Not scored by this record.
commercial-pci-p2pe-tokenization
Not scored by this record.
commercial-pci-dss-4-controls
Not scored by this record.
commercial-privacy-dsar-tooling
Not scored by this record.
commercial-wcag-kiosk-accessibility differentiator
Not scored by this record.
commercial-dual-pricing-compliant differentiator
Not scored by this record.
Adversarial verification
An independent pass was instructed to refute this record, defaulting to downgrade when uncertain. It challenged 17 values — 1 upheld, 0 downgraded, 0 upgraded. This is published in full because a reader who can see which values were contested, on what evidence, and which way they moved has something no affiliate-funded comparison offers.
Capability claims
| Claim | As first scored | Verdict | What the verifier found |
|---|---|---|---|
| order-capture-split-merge | unknown (F) — placeholder: 'No public documentation located during the 2026-08-01 research pass' | resolve-to-partial | The placeholder marked an unexamined cell. Chowbus's POS product page names 'Guest Mode' for 'more efficient ordering and split-check processing', and the 2026 summer launch note cites 'a smoother check-splitting experience' in core POS. Presence of split-check is established at grade C; the split modes and any merge of checks or tables are undocumented, which is the named shortfall. source |
| order-capture-scheduled-orders | unknown (F) — placeholder | resolve-to-partial | Branded mobile app page documents 'Support for instant pickup or scheduled orders'. Acceptance of future-dated orders is established; per-channel lead time and fire-time injection into the make queue are not documented anywhere, so the cell cannot reach yes. source |
| menu-pricing-nested-modifiers | unknown (F) — placeholder | resolve-to-partial | A dedicated vendor product-update post states 'It now allows for three-level menu item configurations' and walks a three-deep example with per-option surcharges. Three levels satisfies the depth requirement; independent per-level min/max counts and a forced-selection flag are never described as configurable, so partial rather than yes. source |
| payments-gift-cards | unknown (F) — placeholder | resolve-to-partial | Gift card product page documents first-party digital and physical cards, fund-flow reporting, and redemption at any location in a chain; the offline-mode note independently confirms gift card sale and redemption exist by listing them among functions that stop offline. Redemption through the first-party online-ordering channel is undocumented, and balance visibility is reporting rather than a stated real-time balance — hence partial. source |
| kitchen-expo-consolidation | unknown (F) — placeholder | resolve-to-partial | KDS hardware page documents multiple workstation screens with dish-specific assignments, 'Automatic dish consolidation', and 'Full-order display at expediting station with double-tap confirmation'. The consolidation half of the claim is met; the all-contributing-stations-bumped completion rule is not documented, and the described expo action is a manual confirmation. source |
| digital-menu-single-source | unknown (F) — placeholder | resolve-to-yes | Three separate first-party pages state the digital menu is generated from the POS record: branded app 'Menus, pricing, and membership benefits sync automatically with your POS'; online-ordering update, menu sync from POS 'eliminates duplicate data entry'; POS page, availability edits 'instantly synced across all menus'. Table-stakes weight, so grade C carries a yes. source |
| guest-loyalty-unified-profile | unknown (F) — placeholder | resolve-to-partial | Loyalty page documents phone number as the unique guest identifier 'applicable across all channels', with the program working across kiosks, tablets, QR and apps with instant sync. One identity across POS, kiosk and first-party digital is therefore documented; the claim's explicit dedup/merge-behaviour requirement is not, so partial. source |
| labor-granular-rbac | unknown (F) — placeholder | resolve-to-partial | POS product page ('configure permissions flexibly') and full-service page ('Customize staff permissions') establish that permissions are configurable rather than fixed cashier/manager/admin tiers. Neither enumerates the individually grantable actions or per-location scoping the claim demands, which is the named shortfall. source |
| reporting-pmix-modifier-level | unknown (F) — placeholder | resolve-to-partial | POS page documents breakdown 'by time period, order type, menu category, and more' and the multi-location page states reports are 'detailed down to the item level'. Item-level PMIX with daypart slicing is established; modifier-level lines and revenue-center filtering are documented nowhere. source |
| hardware-offline-mode | unknown (F) — placeholder | resolve-to-yes | A dedicated vendor product-update note enumerates offline behaviour precisely as the claim requires — order creation, kitchen printing, cash and card payment, receipt printing and tip collection continue; gift cards, loyalty, coupons and cross-device order sync explicitly do not, along with tablet, QR and kiosk ordering. Automatic 30-second cutover and cached PIN login are documented. This is a published degrade list, not a marketing assertion, so grade B. source |
| reliability-offline-order-entry | unknown (F) — placeholder | resolve-to-yes | Same offline-mode note: 'Creating orders', 'Sending orders to the kitchen printer' and 'Printing customer receipts' all continue with no network. Order entry, ticket routing and check printing on-terminal are all covered. The documented caveat — no order sync between Chowbus devices while offline — does not bear on on-terminal entry. source |
| reliability-offline-kds-printing | unknown (F) — placeholder | resolve-to-yes | Offline-mode note lists 'Sending orders to the kitchen printer' as working without a network, and the KDS hardware page separately advertises '100% functional offline operation'. The claim is satisfied by kitchen printer routing alone; both halves are asserted first-party. source |
| inventory-recipe-bom-costing | unknown (F) — placeholder: 'No public documentation located during the 2026-08-01 research pass' | resolve-to-no | The placeholder marked an unexamined cell. Three independent first-party enumerations were re-read: the switch-to-chowbus catalog, which lists every product by suite and has no inventory, ingredient or food-cost module; the pos-plans pricing page, whose Starter/Efficiency/Growth tier lists name no inventory feature; and /products/inventory-management, which returns HTTP 404. The only stock behaviour Chowbus publishes is dish-level availability toggling on the POS product page. Chowbus's own bubble-tea and pos-features blog posts discuss recipe-to-ingredient depletion as generic buying advice and never attribute it to their product. Enumerative absence of the whole inventory layer forecloses nested sub-recipe costing with automatic plate-cost recalculation. source |
| reporting-realtime-dashboard | unknown (F) — placeholder: 'No public documentation located during the 2026-08-01 research pass' | resolve-to-yes | The placeholder marked an unexamined cell. The Chowbus Go product page — not previously retrieved — documents a merchant mobile app showing 'real-time business data' from overview down to hourly breakdowns, order type, dish and staff performance, plus daily closing reports, explicitly usable 'even when you're off-site'. The browser half of the claim is carried by the POS product page ('Access and export data from your computer for deep analysis of orders, staff performance, and more') and the multi-location page's web-or-mobile HQ account switching. Both required access paths and the off-premise condition are met on first-party pages; grade C rather than B because Chowbus publishes no admin guide and no refresh interval, and this is a table-stakes claim where C may carry a yes. source |
| labor-clock-in-at-pos | unknown (F) — placeholder: 'No public documentation located during the 2026-08-01 research pass' | resolve-to-yes | The placeholder marked an unexamined cell. The full-service vertical page attributes attendance tracking to POS staff management ('Customize staff permissions, track attendance, and calculate wages and tips effortlessly'), and 7shifts' partner page for its shipped Chowbus connector lists 'Real Time Labor Data Sync' and 'Employee Sync from POS to 7shifts' — labor punches originate in the POS, which is operational corroboration a marketing page cannot provide. The offline-mode note documents cached PIN login at the terminal, and the sitemap's complete hardware catalog (pickup screen, handheld, KDS, QR, kiosk, tablet) contains no separate time-clock device. Table-stakes weight, so grade C carries the yes. source |
| hardware-os-platforms | unknown (F) — placeholder: 'No public documentation located during the 2026-08-01 research pass' | resolve-to-partial | The placeholder marked an unexamined cell. The POS product page names the client platform — 'Running on iOS-powered Apple devices, our point of sale system performs smoothly and reliably' — satisfying the OS-naming half of the claim. The second half fails on the vendor's whole public surface: none of the six /hardware/* pages carries a model name, OS version or spec table, and no help centre or admin guide exists (sitemap enumeration; help.chowbus.com and support.chowbus.com do not resolve). Minimum OS versions and device specs are the named shortfall. source |
| commercial-pricing-published | no, grade B - Vendor's own pricing page names three tiers but explicitly r | upheld | Grade only, value untouched. Corpus-wide mechanical pass (workflows/regrade-marketing-pages.mjs): the cited page is a first-party pricing/feature/product page, which atlas-evidence-rules grades C ("vendor pricing page or feature page - first-party, but written to sell"), not B ("vendor product documentation - the manual, the help centre, the admin guide"). No claim was re-researched in this pass and no evidence was re-read; only the grade was brought into line with the source type. source |
Sources
Every URL this record cites. 30 in total.
- https://www.chowbus.com/
- https://www.chowbus.com/pos-plans/pricing
- https://www.chowbus.com/sitemap.xml
- https://www.chowbus.com/products/point-of-sale
- https://www.chowbus.com/blog/restaurant-pos-update-offline-mode
- https://www.chowbus.com/blog/restaurant-pos-update-third-layer-menu-management
- https://www.chowbus.com/blog/restaurant-pos-update-menu-management
- https://www.chowbus.com/blog/restaurant-pos-update-online-ordering
- https://www.chowbus.com/products/branded-mobile-app-for-restaurants
- https://www.chowbus.com/products/gift-cards-for-restaurants
- https://www.chowbus.com/products/restaurant-loyalty-programs
- https://www.chowbus.com/products/multi-location-management
- https://www.chowbus.com/hardware/kitchen-display-system
- https://www.chowbus.com/products/third-party-delivery-integration
- https://www.chowbus.com/restaurant-pos/switch-to-chowbus
- https://www.chowbus.com/restaurant-pos/quick-service-pos-system
- https://www.chowbus.com/news/chowbus-summer-launch-event-epic-upgrades-to-flagship-products
- https://www.chowbus.com/blog/pos-reporting
- https://www.chowbus.com/blog/pos-transaction
- https://kb.7shifts.com/hc/en-us/articles/45302885700499-Chowbus-POS
- https://www.chowbus.com/products/chowbus-go
- https://www.chowbus.com/products/inventory-management
- https://www.chowbus.com/blog/pos-system-for-bubble-tea-shops
- https://www.chowbus.com/blog/pos-features
- https://www.chowbus.com/restaurant-pos/full-service-pos-system
- https://www.7shifts.com/integrations/chowbus/
- https://www.chowbus.com/hardware/handheld-pos-system
- https://www.chowbus.com/pos-plans/why-chowbus
- https://www.chowbus.com/sitemap.xml
- https://www.chowbus.com/